Vallee Scholars

Recognizing that outstanding, young, independent investigators are the source for future advances in the biomedical sciences and of their need for flexible, unrestricted funding to conduct their research, the Vallee Scholars program makes grants of $300,000 – to be spent over a period of four years - to junior faculty carrying out basic biomedical research.  This award is available only to investigators who have been nominated by institutions that have been selected by the Vallee Foundation Board of Directors.  One

nomination will be accepted per institution.  The candidate must have received his/her PhD, MD, or other professional degree, within ten years of the application deadline and, by the same date, have been in an independent research position (tenure track or equivalent) for six years or fewer.   FAQ

The following institutes have been invited to nominate a candidate for a 2020 Vallee Scholar Award:

University of California, Los Angeles
University of California, Berkeley
California Institute of Technology
Francis Crick Institute
Duke University
Harvard Medical School
University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
Institute of Science and Technology, Austria
Karolinska Institutet
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
University of Oxford
Pasteur Institute
The Rockefeller Institute
Washington University School of Medicine
Weill Cornell Medicine
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Weizmann Institute
Yale University
University of Zurich