Skip to main content
Patrick Cramer and Eva Nogales

Patrick Cramer & Eva Nogales to win 2023 Shaw Prize

Patrick Cramer (Max Planck Institute for Multidisciplinary Sciences) Eva Nogales (University of California, Berkeley), both of whom are Vallee Visiting Professors, are this year's winners of the Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine.  They are being recognized for their pioneering research into the protein machines responsible for gene transcription, one of life’s fundamental processes. By doing so, they have revealed the mechanism underlying each step in gene transcription, how proper gene transcription promotes health, and how dysregulation causes disease.