Skip to main content

Jennifer Lippincott-Schwartz wins Dickson Prize

Congratulations to VVP Dr Jennifer Lippincott-Schwartz who has been named the 2023 Dickson Prize in Science Prize Winner. Dr Lippincott-Schwartz is a senior group leader and head of 4D Cellular Physiology research area at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute’s Janelia Research Campus in Ashburn, Virginia, and is recognized as one of the world’s most preeminent cell biologists. She has pioneered groundbreaking techniques in live-cell imaging, and her work has overturned the notion that cellular organelles are static structures, bringing forth a dynamic view of subcellular organization. She has changed the very foundations of modern cell biology and her innovations in imaging have fueled new discoveries. Working across disciplines, she has brought about a paradigm shift in how we view the functioning of the cell, transforming the cornerstones of modern cell biology. Among her awards and recognitions, Dr. Lippincott-Schwartz became a Distinguished National Institutes of Health Investigator in 2008, was elected Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences (Biochemistry Section) in 2008, Fellow of the Institute of Medicine in 2009, and was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2019.

About the Dickson Prize in Science: Awarded annually since 1970, Carnegie Mellon University's Dickson Prize in Science recognizes substantial achievements or sustained progress in the fields of the natural sciences, engineering, computer science or mathematics.